NAVSUP logo and Mission - Delivering Combat Capability through Logistics

NAVSUP > News > NAVSUP News Releases > NAVSUP Commander Announces API Command Awards
  • 7 May 2014

NAVSUP Commander Announces API Command Awards

By Debbie Dortch, NAVSUP Office of Corporate Communications

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. (NNS) -- Commander, Naval Supply Systems Command (NAVSUP) Rear Adm. Jonathan Yuen announced winners and runners-up for the 2013 American Petroleum Institute (API) Command Awards and Fuels Personnel of the Year Awards, May 6.

"It gives me great pleasure to announce these winners and runners-up for the API awards for excellence in fuel management and to recognize fuels personnel for their outstanding performance and contributions to the fuels mission during calendar year 2013," Yuen said.

These annual awards are promoted by the API, an internationally known petroleum trade organization that recognizes activities and personnel who have made the most significant contributions to Department of the Navy bulk fuel operations, petroleum supply chain management, and fleet fuel support. The awards highlight the accomplishments of naval petroleum professionals who demonstrate their pride, professionalism, and support for our warfighters.

CATEGORY I (Navy Bulk Fuel Terminals)

Winner: NAVSUP FLC San Diego

Runner-up: NAVSUP FLC Norfolk

CATEGORY II (Navy Retail Fuel Activities)

Winner: NAS Fallon

Runner-up: NAVSUP FLC Pearl Harbor Retail Activity

CATEGORY III (USMC Fuel Facilities)

Winner: Fuels Branch, MCAS Miramar

Runner-up: Fuels Branch, MAGTFTC

CATEGORY IV (USMC Tactical Units)

Winner: 8th ESB, Camp Lejeune, NC

Runner-up: MWSS 372, Camp Pendleton, CA

CATEGORY V (Individuals)

Navy Fuel Officer

Winner: LT Harold Lowe, NAVSUP FLC Sigonella Site Rota

Runner-up: LCDR Michael Lorrain, NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville

Navy Fuel Chief Petty Officer

Winner: MMCS(SW/AW) Leodias Jack, NAVSUP FLC Yokosuka Site Sasebo

Runner-up: ABFC(AW/SW) Junior Rodriguez, USS HARRY S. TRUMAN (CVN 75)

Navy Fuel Petty Officer

Winner: ABF1(AW/SW) Donnell Davis, NAVSUP FLC Sigonella

Runner-up: ABF1(AW/SW) Luis Valenzuela, NAVSUP FLC Sigonella Site Rota

Navy Fuel Civilian

Winner: Mr. Robert Cairns, NAVSUP FLC Puget Sound

Runner-up: Mr. Stephen Isaacson, NAS Fallon

Marine Corps Fuel Officer

Winner: CWO3 Danilo McCabe, II MEF, Camp Lejeune, NC

Runner-up: CWO3 Adam Miller, MWSD-24, Kaneohe Bay, HI

Marine Corps Fuel Staff NCO

Winner: GySgt Bo Miller, MCAS New River, NC

Runner-up: GySgt George Pruitt, 8th ESB, Camp Lejeune, NC

Marine Corps Fuel NCO

Winner: Sgt Edwin Garcia, 8th ESB, Camp Lejeune, NC

Runner-up: Sgt William Leidig, MWSS 172, Camp Foster, Japan

Marine Corps Fuel Civilian

Winner: Mr. Thomas Scott, MCAS Futenma, Japan

"Please join me in congratulating these outstanding performers on their achievements. Congratulations and Bravo Zulu to all," Yuen added.

The NAVSUP and Navy Supply Corps team share one mission - to deliver sustained global logistics and quality-of-life support to the Navy and joint warfighter. NAVSUP/Navy Supply Corps' diverse team of more than 25,000 civilian and military personnel oversee a diverse portfolio including supply chain management for material support to Navy, Marine Corps, joint and coalition partners, supply operations, conventional ordnance, contracting, resale, fuel, transportation, security assistance, and quality-of-life issues for our naval forces, including food service, postal services, Navy Exchanges, and movement of household goods. The NAVSUP/Navy Supply Corps team forms a vast network of professionals who deliver unparalleled products and services to customers in the Fleet and across the world.


For more information contact:
Ms. Janice Derk, NAVSUP Corporate Communications Director
Phone: (717) 605-7402, Email: